Oral B Pro Care 3D Smart Series 5000 Review


11_Ecom_FlossActionA_ProductPage_B_20110512_B004O76DECI promised I would follow up with an update after I tried out my spiffy new Oral B toothbrush. I’ll start with the bad stuff.

This new version Oral B Pro Care 3D Smart Series 5000 comes with a nifty little detached electronic timer gadget with a digital smiley face on it that is supposed to help a person brush correctly. It tells you which quadrant of the mouth to brush, and for how long. This device, unfortunately, is nothing more than a gimmick, and is essentially useless. Now, I have a problem staying in one place for an extended period of time, so I typically walk around while I am brushing in order to multitask. I use one hand to brush, and the other to perhaps tidy up or select attire for the day. The first time I used this brush, I carried the timer around with me, but found it tedious to keep looking at it, and it also occupied my one free hand, virtually rendering myself unable to multitask. Yes, it was exciting and cool upon first use, but after that, the novelty quickly wore off.

This gadget might be great for kids, but the average adult with even a remotely intelligent brain will find the smiley face lame, and it only takes up counter space. The brush itself vibrates every thirty seconds, so I really have no need to visually view one quarter of a smiley face blinking at me to let me know how far I am in the brushing process. Nonetheless, I do commend the developers of this product for innovative thinking. Clearly this is an effort to capitalize on the current technology frenzy. I’m just waiting on the iPhone App that will digitally brush your teeth for you.

The second thing I dislike about this brush is that it does not have capability to be mounted to the wall. I hate clutter and I hate a lot of stuff on the countertop. My old brush hung neatly on the wall; this new one has to sit on the counter because it comes with a charger mount attached to the box to store the extra brush heads. I do like the fact that it does come with storage for the brush heads, but I want to be able to hang it all on the wall. Developers, please go back to the engineering design drawing board on this one.

The third thing that I did not like was that the packaging markets several brushing modes. I have yet to discover how to make these happen, and I have not taken the time to read the manual to figure it out. Who has time to read a tooth brushing manual, and why would they make it so complicated that it would require training? I thought I could cheat by watching the DVD that was included with the unit, but this only gave instructions on how to brush and did not give any information on how to initiate brushing modes. I did not find it important enough to pursue.

What DO I like about this toothbrush? It is a stellar brush to clean teeth, control plaque, and promote healthy gums. My old version worked great, and this new version works even better. The new brush heads are better and help to clean between teeth better. The “power tip” brush head I do not use often, but it is sort of like a lazy way of flossing. It does not replace flossing, but helps if you are a floss slacker.

As long as you are minding the two-minute brush time, the Oral B is the way to go. I can live without the extra timepiece, and the extra cost involved in including the gadget. Overall, I still love my Oral B, and hope it will continue to keep those pesky drills out of my mouth.

Leave a Reply

