The Future of Streaming Media


So this week’s blog is about STREAMING MEDIA.  This is going to be a condensed version this week because 1) I want to get it done so I can watch Greys Anatomy 2) I have read the chapter, and tried searching some articles on the subject, but can’t find anything that is not completely mind-numbing, and I am tired of looking.  3) I am off work tomorrow, but I have to focus on an important assignment in my other class that is worth a lot of points (Sorry Professor Futrell, have to rob Peter to pay Paul this week) 4) That assignment is due Sunday, and Saturday I am going to Lexington to see my lovely daughter and her family.  They are wonderful enough to help me out with some car maintenance, and Sunday I just want to rest and chill out. And 5) I am just plain tired.  I have worked for the last six days, which included all of last weekend.  End of story.  Now I am pleased with myself that I have been able to write an entire paragraph and not really say much of anything.  Very clever, huh?   All right, I have to try out this poll thing.

Now that the fun and games are out of the way, let’s get down to business.  I have watched a fair share of streaming videos online.  The technology has been around for some time now, and although great strides have been made thus far, I believe there is still much improvement that needs to be accomplished.   I am delighted that Real, Microsoft, Apple, and Adobe finally decided to support multiple formats rather than just one and forcing users to download all the players.  But I’m not so thrilled about having to download plugins like Flashplayer, or the latest version, or having to update it  in order to view moving graphics on a website, or a certain video.  I was just on Hulu, and for some reason I have to download Flash to view the video I wanted to view.  I guess either I need an update or my version has been corrupted.  I have broadband, and I have a pretty good laptop, with a Core Duo processor, so video should be fast and smooth, right?  Well, more often than not, video viewing is choppy, and the streams take time to buffer and/or load.  I am guessing because there is some interference with my broadband connection.  I am optimistic about the fiber optic technology in which I am told this type of internet traffic interference will not occur.  At that point maybe it will not be an issue, but for now, I prefer my television for viewing TV programs, movies, and so forth.  Furthermore, I have concerns of getting a virus from something I view or have to download from the internet. 

I think Hulu and YouTube are great sites, and some of the networks offer full episodes of their programs, which I also think is great.  But I would rather watch it on television, and the only reason I might watch it on the internet is if I miss something and did not DVR the program.  I use DVR a lot now, and before I had it, I was more apt to go to the internet to catch missed episodes. 

Streaming media is just another option to television, and I think it is all about choices for consumers.  It has already spilled over into the portable technology genre.  It will keep improving, and will merge with television in the near future with IPTV.  Right now, if I had to get rid of cable for budget reasons, I would feel comfortable that there would be plenty to watch on my laptop.  But other than that, it is not that useful to me.  I can do without YouTube and Hulu.  It’s fun at times, but I really don’t have time to paruse the internet for global video downloads. 

I found this link on Hulu to test your bandwidth speed.  Try it, it is interesting.   http://www.speedtest.net/  Eh, I wanted to add a video, but I could not get anything to work for me tonight.  Maybe for the next blog……..

3 thoughts on “The Future of Streaming Media

  1. I’VE READ SEVERAL OF YOUR BLOGS, LISA, AND FOUND THEM INTERESTING, ALTHOUGH SOMETIMES IF IT IS CONCERNING COMPUTERS
    AND THEIR VARIOUS CAPABILITIES, I’M AT A LOSS. I LEFT A NOTE ONCE BEFORE BUT SOMEHOW SCREWED IT UP. THAT HAS SOMETHING TO DO
    WITH THE UNYOUNG PROBLEM I’M WORKING WITH HERE. 🙂

  2. TV & Internet does rot your brain & your body. I can say in my life I have never had cable or satellite TV nor have I had internet at home & look people I have survived! I think people need to unplug themselves for a bit here & there & have a picnic, go hiking, do something productive with yourself. TV, computers, video game systems, etc… are half the reason that 1 out of 4 children in this country is in the “morbibly obese” category. So before you grab your laptop & run to the closest McDonalds to enjoy free WiFi & 9000 calories of food with no nutritional value…. Make a sandwich & run in place while you eat it. Make your own entertainment, be creative.

  3. What the heck is “Hulu”. I do know what “You Tube” is and view something every day. However, Ms Faircloth does indeed have a point and that point is well taken. Now, I have to go get my hiking gear and go to the Appalachian Trail. Well done, Lisa.

Leave a Reply

